Vegan Frustration

Being vegan in a omnivorous society is extremely frustrating. Learning about where and how we source our food has a way of clearing the fog and seeing the whole world differently. Once I decided I was going vegan the way I felt towards others, specifically people that I love, shifted. I started to see their flaws, insecurities, and inability to look at things from an unbiased perspective.

The reason I judge my family and friends more than others is because I know they are intelligent, kind, and loving people. Why can’t they see what I see? How can they look at a glass of milk and not realize the great amount of suffering that it contains?

They will never understand until they watch the slaughterhouse footage, until they hear mother cows scream for their babies to be given back to them, until they feel what these incredibly smart creatures are forced to endure.

It breaks my heart.

I’m torn because I want my loved ones to be informed yet I don’t want to create a blockage within our relationship. Shoving it down their throats wouldn’t help anyone. Change comes from within and the idea needs to be their own. That’s how it was with me, I’ve known about veganism for awhile yet anytime someone tried to inform me on the facts I blocked them out and came up with my own reasoning for continuing my habits.

The truth is, being vegan is hard. But not in the ways you might think. It’s easy to get all of the nutrients you need, the hard part comes from society and the stigma of rude vegans. If you have the “right” to eat other living beings, then we, vegans, have the “right” to harp on you. Maybe that guilt you’re feeling isn’t because of vegans, it’s because you know that you are supporting the worst genocide this world has ever seen.

IMG_1703.JPG

One Reply to “Vegan Frustration”

Leave a Reply

